Creation: Janie, the house finch

Found this on another blog and thought it worthwhile to pass along to anyone stumbling on my page. A particularly heart warming story for this Sunday morning. Hope you get the warm feelings I got, while reading it.

Fellowship of the Minds

Janie 9-2014b

Meet Janie, the little house finch whom I’d rescued as a fledgling ten years ago.

Her parents had built a little nest in a planter on the outside wall next to the front door of my townhouse. Mommy laid three eggs, all of which hatched. But after the first two fledglings flew from the nest, little Janie remained, too immature to fly.

I kept a watch on her, peering into the nest every day.

One afternoon, I heard the distressed chatter of birds outside. I dashed out and saw little Janie on the ground, her parents by her side, clearly distressed. Unable to fly, Janie would not last long and would soon be captured by a cat or dog.

So I took her in.

I hand fed Janie a gruel of Kaytee powder formula for baby birds mixed with mango sherbet.

Fledglings I’d rescued in the past would subsist on the…

View original post 478 more words

Author: patrioticgofer

Vietnam Veteran and patriot to my home and home land. Not a government butt kisser, by any means. I believe in "We the people" being the power in this great country and I believe we need to regain that status and remind our governing officials of that, every chance we get. There are all kinds of "conspiracy theories" coming out, almost faster, every day. Hopefully, the posts I put here, have been researched by others and are truthful.

Leave a Reply

